We did not get the van that was scheduled for us in the contract. The replacement van was not well prepared or roadworthy.
The tyres varied in pressure from 52 to 27. The pressure recommended in the handbook is 38. The oil cap was missing. The towing hook was missing.
Within the van: neither of the two electric sockets worked, no matter which battery we were using, or hook up or engine running. Couldn’t even charge our phones. The bed folded down easily, but trying to put it back into the seating position was a struggle even for two people. The revolving two front seats were impossible. After the first day using them, we gave up after trying to align the plates and the holes for the screws to return the seats to the forward position. We had deliberately looked for this possibly in booking the van.
A disappointment. We had looked forward so much to the campervan holiday and had spent quite a bit of money on it. I would not like others to experience what we went through. I wrote to Carol soon after returning the van, but have had no reply.
Response from Getaway Campers
Dear James . We are sorry that you felt the necessity to leave a 1* review.. We do feel that it is a bit harsh in the circumstances and I shall explain why below
You state that we didn't reply, well your e mail was sent at 5 pm on a Friday (After we were closed). Upon opening Monday we addressed all the points mentioned in the e mail and investigated them thoroughly . A reply was then sent first thing Tuesday morning . I'm unsure how this could have been quicker?
The results of the study were:-
1 -the van was replaced with a newer model, Just 4 years old! The previous hirer blocked the DPF on the original model (which is identical just 6 months older)
2 - 1 tyre appears to have a slow puncture .
3 - The towing eye wasnt missing, we remove them due to health & safety liability issue . We do not expect our hirers to tow vehicles. We have a contracted recovery specialist to do this. This eliminates any damage an unqualified hirer may cause.
4 - The electric sockets in the rear work perfectly when connected to mains hook up . The instruction manual is clear they do not operate on battery power.
5 - The rock & roll bed is very easy .. We tasked a single member of staff who had a hip replacement recently to operate this and the retraction was carried out in around 20 seconds . We would normally show operation on pick up but due to covid we don't currently. We did however send our youtube video of the operation of the beds and camper generally for your viewing . We will go over the items if not confident and answer queries on collection.
6 - The front seat rotation. This is the easiest model on the market, We do not manufacture this product ! the seats unbolt, slide back , rotate and return . they are very easy to operate, the rotation return does take a bit longer but again was accomplished in around 30 seconds (Unfortunately cant post a video on this platform to demonstrate )
we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your break, especially after going to the effort of getting the extra insurance cover due to your age, but we think that your campervan days are probably now behind you and you would be better suited to a motorhome with more space and beds already set up .
Best Wishes Team Getaway