Unfortunately there were many things that were not satisfactory with our campervan through Gobooney. On first sight the van had alot of damage on the bodywork everywhere which was noted on the GoForm. However the van also had a number of problems that only became obvious once we had driven the van away. The main issue being a slow puncture which meant we had to take the van to a garage to be repaired. It turned out to be a hairline crack in the alloy. They couldnt repair it immediately so we had to have the spare put on. When we returned the van, the owner contested who had caused the crack and withheld the deposit because she wanted us to pay to have it fixed. Gobooney's support team were far too slow in coming forward to mediate and actually understand that it was extremely unfair of the owner to blame us and expect us to pay for it. My advice to anyone hiring a campervan through Gobooney is to make sure you contact the owner and have written evidence as soon as any problems arise so that you don't end up paying for pre-existing damage. This was a damage on the inside of the wheel so the only way you would know of it is by taking it off and having it tested at a garage, which was how we found out what the problem was. Another annoyance that we only discovered once we had driven away, was that only one burner was working on the hob. Also there were shards of broken glass behind the hob. Another issue was the curtains which were falling off their tracks. We feel that considering how much we paid for the van, alot more care should have been given to making sure everything was in good order. To sum up, we had a great holiday touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland but due to our problems with dealing with the slow puncture and then being made to pay towards the cost of repairing it, has left a bitter taste in our mouths.
Response from Barbara
Hi Kathryn, I am sorry you feel this way about the van. As you acknowledge the existing damage to the van was recorded on the Go form. We do take care to ensure the van is in good condition when handed over including checking the tyre pressure. Therefore as I explained through the GoBoony deposit management process, unfortunately we do believe the crack to the alloy occurred while you had the van as there was no loss in pressure before we handed the van over. However as you are aware, as a good will gesture and in recognition that the damage to the wheel may have happened from bad luck such as hitting a pot hole we agreed to halve the cost. I would also note that I did not refuse to refund the deposit but did follow the GoBoony deposit management process for where new damage has been identified during a hire.
In terms of other damage you refer to, we have had a long wait to get a bodywork repair completed from damage on previous hire, due to delays at local garages in the the highlands, this is not ideal but we hope to have it repaired this month. I would highlight that this existing damage was all declared on the Go Form and we did not in anyway hold you responsible for it. I am also sorry about the glass you found inside the curtain track behind the panelling, as it is a concealed area we had not identified it had glass in it after a previous hire had broken the sink cover. We will make sure that is throughly checked in the future.